THE GREAT EXCHANGE

I was grieving in my heart, knowing how much emotional pain my son was still feeling over the divorce a few years ago, feeling responsible for his pain.  It was as though I needed to feel this pain, and carry this burden, because I felt responsible for it, and if I ever got to the point of not feeling pained by it, I was worried that I would become hard-hearted, and I didn’t want that, ever.

With these thoughts, a gnawing ache gripped my insides, until I heard my Jesus speaking to my spirit, “That’s why I died– to bear this burden for you.”

It was 12:35 a.m.  I asked, “Will You please wait a minute so I can get my journal?” and I flicked on the bedside lamp and grabbed my journal and pen.

Then He resumed, “Stay pressing into Me.  My love will saturate you; there will be no room for hard-heartedness to set in!  My love will flow from you.  You will be better able to accomplish My will in prayer as you are fasting and praying from this position of dependence on Me.  Dependence on Me to take care of (my sons), and dependence on Me to take the burden for you.  I want to carry it for you.  It is My delight to see you trust Me to do this for you.  It is not a burden to Me—it is a gift to Me when you give Me your burdens.  Your trust in Me delights Me.  This increases My songs over you, as your joy in Me causes overflow from you to others of the limitless oceans of love that will pass through this channel of trust, dependence, leaning entirely on Me, My love filling fully and flowing out.  It’s a GREAT EXCHANGE!

I heard this reference:  Romans 15:13, “May the God of your hope so fill you with all joy and peace in believing through the experience of your faith that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound and be overflowing (bubbling over) with hope.”

Oh, Jesus is saying, “You feel that is your pain, you caused it, it’s your responsibility to carry it, and you’ve strapped it like a cross to your back.  You are resigned to carry it.  I say to you, I died to carry that cross for you. Oh, it gives Me joy to carry it for you, dear one.  When you trust Me, when you trust My willingness to be your burden bearer, and then entrust Me with your burden, you will sense freedom.  We shall walk arm in arm, laughing and loving because your burden is not burdensome for Me.  And now you can joy in My love for you and feel the freedom of those weights that kept you from My joy!”